Finding inspiration in even the most mundane of tasks

Shark Jumping

In General on June 11, 2010 at 11:38 am

Here is my general Autodesk rant of the day.

I used to really like the Autodesk forums.  I enjoyed knowing that I had input that would help others, and having a place to go where I could get answers when I couldn’t figure something out on my own.  Well, with the discontinuation of NNTP access we are stuck with the “new and improved” web version.  I think

the poll option of ‘disastrous’ that Steve Johnson offers sums it up nicely.  Of course,I am still using the forum and giving it a fair shot at proving itself.  The first problem is that the features continuously disappoint.  The second problem is that I will have to go on using them anyway because I don’t really have any good options.

Let’s explore the other options, shall we?

F1.

I’m even willing to forgive the fact that there hasn’t been a decent user manual since AutoCAD R14.  The new online helps falls horribly short of its mark of providing help.  (Hmmm, a thought just occurred to me.  Maybe it met its mark, and it’s just that the development team for that ‘feature’ have really low standards.)  I used to be able to answer a good majority of my questions by searching the help file.  Search hardly works at all in the online version.  It seems they would rather you browse categorically than search.  Hopefully the topics are categorized the way I think they should be.

Reseller tech support.

The fine folks at CAD Masters are quite knowledgeable, and they are friendly enough that I would feel bad calling them 15 times a day with every little question.  Maybe I should start calling Autodesk Subscription Support?

3rd-Part Texts.

The ‘Mastering’ books by Paul Aubin have probably been the most helpful resource over the years aside from the forums.  The only problem here is that no text can be fully exhaustive and there will always be a specific condition or question that simply requires an expert on hand to offer wisdom.

I am in the process of learning Revit Architecture, and this change couldn’t have come at a more inopportune time for me.  So yeah, I’ll continue to trudge on in the forums, but only because they are still a resource I need to excel in my learning at this stage of my career.

Leave a Reply

